Haiti Cries – Where would you go if you died today?

January 16, 2010

This week has been one of the most difficult weeks in the history of the world. The tragedy that Haitians have had to endure and are currently suffering cannot adequately be described in words. It is a difficult thing for us to quantify what the world has lost. It is hard to begin to even begin to try an understand how the citizens of the country must be feeling. The number of families that will never be the same again, the number of loved ones who days ago walked this earth but are now buried in rubble. As many of us watch this catastrophe unfold from the comfort of our homes, it is not easy for us to truly grasp the reality of the disaster in Haiti. Figure such as 50000 or 60000 dead are little more than just numbers but to those who are there the pain is real, the air is dusty and a dense sense of helplessness fills the atmosphere. It is truly one of the world’s darkest hours. It took only 60 seconds to change the course of an entire nation

I am not at all suggesting that we stop everything and be suspended in a constant equilibrium of despair and mourning. I am however wishing to highlight the fragility of human life. Late last year I lost two uncles tragically and not far apart. It suddenly dawned on me, perhaps

not as clearly as before these events happened, that we do not know the time or the manner in which this life will end. I cannot describe to you the anguish and the distress that gripped our family in those dark times. We have absolutely no control of earthquakes or floods, but we do have an opportunity while there is breath in our lungs to choose life.

It is my desire that we would all take time out to ask the very real question in our own hearts tonight, IF I WERE TO DIE TONIGHT, AM I SURE BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT WHERE I WOULD GO? If you are out there, and you do not know what would happen to you, the bible says” For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood

.” (NIV) Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (NIV) Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (NIV) Romans 10:8b-11 “The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,” that is, the word of faith we are proclaiming: That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved”

If you want to know for certain that you will enter into eternal life pray this prayer below, and then contact a friend who is a Christian and let them know of your decision or contact a local church and find out how you can know more about the man who gave it all that we might be able to have eternal life.

“Heavenly Father, I humbly come before you now confessing that I am a sinner. Father, I repent of my sin and I ask you to forgive me. Father, I believe in my heart that Christ Jesus is the Son of God. I believe that you raised him from the dead. I now declare that Jesus is my Lord and Savior. I believe that through His blood, I have eternal life. Dear Lord, please come into my heart, save my soul, direct my steps, and fill me with the Holy Spirit. In the name of Jesus I pray. Amen!”

PLEASE GIVE TO HAITI DISASTER FUND THROUGH THE RED CROSS AT http://www.redcross.org.uk/emergencysite/default.aspx?id=88916

2 Responses to “Haiti Cries – Where would you go if you died today?”

  1. Irwin Avalos Says:

    You have done it once again. Amazing article.

  2. Hans Huff Says:

    If only I had a dime for every time I came here! Superb writing.


Leave a Reply

